Call for Papers: "Shaping the Future of Europe" (Conference – Salzburg, 27-28 February 2020) – Deadline: 1 September 2019

Printer-friendly version

The 3. Tagung junger Europarechtler*innen – 3rd Young European Law Scholars Conference invites Young European Law Scholars, i.e., scholars who have not yet secured a full professorship, but also young scholars from related disciplines such as political science, sociology, economics, and philosophy for a debate on how to shape the future of Europe. The Conference will be held on Thursday 27th – Friday 28th of February 2020 at the University of Salzburg.

Young scholars are invited to propose ideas and to discuss their views on how to shape the future of Europe. This warrants a forward-looking conceptual analysis on how to properly address Europe’s internal and external challenges and a bold and visionary approach. Instead of proposals that focus on current shortcomings, submissions that propose new, hands-on approaches to tackling Europe’s challenges in an innovative and future-oriented way, or pieces that revisit existing but promising approaches that were never put into practice are encouraged. Additionally, while asking ourselves which shape the future of Europe shoud have, we also need to inquire how EU law would be studied in the future. Therefore contributions on how and in which direction legal scholarship itself should develop are also welcome.

If you are interested in joining the debate on Shaping the Future of Europe, please submit an anonymised abstract (max 600 words) and a short CV until 1st of September 2019 to on any aspect of the overall topic. Contributions may be submitted and presented in German, English or French. You will receive a response by the 30th September 2019. If selected, you will be asked to submit a short paper of maximum 6000 words by the 14th of February 2020 for circulation amongst speakers and commentators of the conference. 

Selected presentations receive the benefit of discussion by established commentators, namely: Ségolène Barbou des Places (Sorbonne Paris 1) – Catherine Barnard (University of Cambridge) – Enzo Cannizzaro (Sapienza Università di Roma) – Stefan Griller (University of Salzburg) – András Jakab (University of Salzburg) – Dimitry Kochenov (University of Groningen) – Panos Koutrakos (City University of London) – Sonja Puntscher Riekmann (University of Salzburg) – Kirsten Schmalenbach (University of Salzburg).

The papers will be published – subject to a positive outcome of the peer review process – in a Special Section of a forthcoming Issue of European Papers.

For further details, see the Call for Papers.


European Forum


Forum Européen


Forum europeo


Foro Europeo